What Makes A GOAT? [NFTW #47]

Jordan. LeBron. Woods. Brady. Messi. Ronaldo. Federer. Serena. Nadal. Djokovic. Tyson. All names that are tossed around in GOAT debates but I share some thoughts on why Ali stands above all.

What’s good everyone? I hope we’re all doing well. For those of you that are acquainted with your local barbershop I’m sure you’ve heard the GOAT debate be passionately discussed. Whether it’s Ronaldo or Messi in football, Jordan or LeBron in basketball or Ali and Tyson in the boxing ring—the debate of who’s the greatest in their respective sport is one that I love to hear and participate in. However, after spending some time this week learning more about the life of Muhammad Ali I think I’m now being forced to rethink the entire debate.

The Criteria Of A GOAT

I try to keep at the forefront of my mind that the video below is my yardstick. The integrity and conviction of Muhammad Ali, who at twenty five; at the the height of his career decided not to fight for the US in the Vietnam War. A decision that would see him lose his titles and become one of the most hated men in America.

We all use different metrics to measure “success” in our lives. Money, fame, followers, etc but for me integrity will be my main metric. Is there congruity between my core beliefs and who I am. Do I strive to close that gap? That for me is the only yardstick that I care about. Everything else is noise. Noise that sounds good, noise that is popular, noise that might even have a nice melody but noise nonetheless.As a fan of sports I’m used to debating who the GOATs are. In sports terms, "GOAT" stands for "Greatest of All Time." It is an acronym used to describe athletes who are widely regarded as the most accomplished, skilled, and dominant in their respective sports throughout history. I can peddle stats and moments that took my breath away but how do you measure the impact of a man that brings even a GOAT to tears. There are people every generation that decide to life their head above the parapet of conformity and stand on the very essence of who they are.

What Muhammad Ali won in his Supreme Court fight over the Vietnam War, and what he lost.

Muhammad Ali's stance resonated deeply with black people who were fighting for their rights and dignity. He embodied the spirit of resistance and empowerment, showing that a black man could be unapologetically proud of his heritage and unafraid to challenge the status quo. His courage and outspokenness inspired black individuals to assert their voices and demand equality, both inside and outside the sports arena.

Ali's charisma and charm helped shift societal perceptions of black people. He broke down stereotypes and presented himself as a multifaceted individual, challenging narrow stereotypes of black masculinity. His magnetic personality and quick wit endeared him to people worldwide, transcending racial boundaries and fostering greater acceptance and appreciation for black culture.

Purpose matters. Purpose motivates. Purpose inspires. When all is said and done, the statistics can be celebrated and rightly so but the integrity brings the ultimate signs of honour. Muhammad Ali's legacy is one of courage, determination, and hope. He was a true champion for black people, and his impact on the world will be felt for generations to come. Statistics may make you a GOAT but only your integrity and conviction can bestow you with the title: The People’s Champ.

Listens This Week

Until next week. Peace.